Steady Defense When You're Charged With Child Sexual Abuse

Sexual contact with someone under the age of 16 is criminal sexual conduct in Michigan, even if the sex was consensual. While consensual sex with someone who is 16 years old is not a crime, taking pictures or videos of your sex partner can result in federal child pornography charges.

If you have been charged with criminal sexual conduct with a minor in western Michigan, I, Jim Champion, offer a free initial consultation to discuss your case. Your consultation will be completely confidential, and I will answer any questions you may have.

Criminal Sexual Conduct Charges

Sex crimes are charged as criminal sexual conduct in Michigan. The seriousness of the charge depends on many factors, including the age of the victim and whether or not there was penetration.

All criminal sexual conduct charges are subject to registration as a sex offender. Other penalties include:

  • Up to 25 years in prison depending on the level of the charge
  • Large monetary fines
  • Inability to be within a certain distance of a school or playground
  • Permanent tarnishing of your reputation in the community

Even if you feel as though you are just being investigated, but have not yet been charged, it is wise to speak with a criminal defense lawyer regarding your options. By getting my law firm involved early on in the process, we could be able to save you the public embarrassment of having the charges brought in the first place.

By thoroughly investigating the prosecution's claims and all of the evidence of your case, we are able to uncover false accusations and other defenses. Many times, accusations of sexual abuse can arise under fraudulent conditions in order for an individual to seek revenge or gain an upper hand in a situation. When this happens, putting a lawyer in your corner is critical. Just because you know the accusations are false does not mean that a judge will believe you.

Never Talk To The Police About Your Case

If you are accused of criminal sexual conduct involving a minor, you should not talk to police. You may unintentionally give police the information they need to charge you with a crime. For example, if you tell police you had sex with a minor but it was consensual, you have just given the authorities the evidence they need to convict you.

Another fact many people do not understand is that police officers are allowed to lie to you. Do not believe anything they say to you. Cops will simply ask you very pointed questions with the intention to get you to say something you should not.

Get The Criminal Sexual Conduct And Child Molestation Defense You Need

There is no cost to discuss your case with me, attorney James Champion. Schedule a consult today by calling me at 888-898-5831 or contact me online. Located in Grand Rapids, I serve clients throughout western Michigan.